Annual Maintenance Fee
The Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-171, Section 7310) and Georgia law authorize OCSS to collect a $25 annual maintenance fee. This annual maintenance fee is charged for successful child support collection for a family that has never received TANF. The fee applies to all active IV-D cases which have had $500 disbursed (check/debit card issued) to the CP during the current fiscal year. The annual $12 maintenance fee ($1.00 per month) is due from the custodial parent. The annual $13 maintenance fee ($1.08 per month) is due from the non-custodial parent. If a Federal Income Withholding (FIW) with the Non custodial parent’s employer currently exists, the OCSS system will automatically generate a FIW update to the employer identifying the changes in deduction amounts to include the $1.08 fee amount.
Federal regulations 45 CFR 302.33(c) and Georgia law (O.C.G.A. 19-11-8) authorize OCSS to charge a non-TANF applicant a non-refundable application fee of $25.00.
Employer Administrative Fee
Under Georgia Law an employer may charge an administrative fee up to $25 to establish the income deduction and up to $3 per income deduction thereafter which could range from $108 - $216 annually.
Genetic Testing Fee
OCSS has contracted with a private vendor to provide exclusive genetic testing services for all OCSS offices statewide. Local OCSS offices must collect payment for genetic testing from any male who was tested and the results indicate that he is found to be the biological father. The fee is $31.00 per party member tested. For example, if the non-custodial parent, custodial parent and one child are tested, the fee will be $93.00.
Interest on Child Support Judgments
Georgia law, O.C.G.A. §19-11-7(e) states that “the department may collect the legal rate of interest on any judgment obtained in any support action initiated by the department.” Therefore, OCSS is authorized to apply and collect interest on judgments that were either established by OCSS or those private orders modified by OCSS. If a private order is modified by OCSS, then OCSS would collect interest from the date of entry of the new judgment, i.e., the modification order. Interest calculation begins when the non-custodial parent becomes 30-days delinquent. Interest is calculated on arrears that were due on January 1, 2007 to present at a rate of 7%.
Review and Modification of Support Order Fee
In accordance with federal regulations at 45 CFR 302.33(c)(2)(i) and (d) and Georgia law O.C.G.A. 19-11-12(g), OCSS is authorized to establish and collect a fee of $100 for a review and modification of a support order. If you are the person requesting a review, you will have to pay a $100 non-refundable review application fee when the review is complete. A fee will not be charged to a person currently eligible for and receiving TANF; or to any applicant for such services whose reported monthly income is $1,000 or less. The non-refundable $100 fee is due for each child support case, regardless of the final result.
Payment Processing Fee
Noncustodial parents will be charged a payment processing fee not to exceed $1.50 per transaction to cover the costs of processing and distributing child support to families. This is in accordance with O.C.G.A. 19-6-33.1(j).
Credit/Debit Card Processing Fee
Those who pay child support using a credit and/or debit card will be charged a convenience fee equal to 2.5 percent of the payment. This fee is in addition to a Family Support Registry fee charged for all payments made through the Division of Child Support Services. Payments made by check, money order, cash or directly debited from a checking account are not subject to the 2.5 percent convenience fee.
|Credit Card Payment||$100.00|
|Credit Card Convenience Fee of 2.5%||$2.54|
|TOTAL CREDIT CARD PAYMENT||$104.04|
Tax Offset Fees
State Tax Offset Fee
In accordance with federal regulations at 45 CFR 302.33(c)(2)(i) and (d) and Georgia law O.C.G.A. 19-11-12(g), OCSS is authorized to establish and collect a fee for the offset of state taxes. An administrative fee of $12.00 per offset will be assessed from the obligor by a deduction from the tax payment prior to distribution. The case will be credited for the intercepted amount less the fee.
Federal Tax Offset Fee
An administrative fee of $15.00 per offset will be accessed from the obligor by a deduction from the tax payment prior to distribution. Arrears will be credited for the intercepted amount less the fee.
|TYPE OF FEE||NON CUSTODIAL PARENT||CUSTODIAL PARENT|
|Annual Maintenance Fee||X||X|
|Employer Administrative Fee||X|
|Genetic Testing Fee||X|
|Interest on Child Support Judgments||X|
|Modification of Support Order Fee||X||X|
|Payment Processing Fee||X|
|Credit/Debit Card Processing Fee||X||X|
|Tax Offset Fees||X|